Published On: 7 Jun 2023Categories: Podcasts, Videos

The SA Car of the Year competition is run and managed by the SA Guild of Mobility Journalists (SAGMJ) and currently sponsored by Old Mutual Insure. First held in 1986, this year marked the 37th awarding of this prestigious title. Colin Windell was a member of the jury at the very first event and has now been a juror for 34 of the 37 times that the competition has been held. Every year brings some controversy and lots of discussion when the winner(s) are announced. 2023 was no exception with a BAKKIE being acclaimed as CAR of the year. The first time that a bakkie has claimed the title. For all the right reasons, the rules, regulations and criteria of the event are updated every year to meet with changing times. Only a few years ago, categories were introduced to cover the varied sectors of the market. In 2023, the winner was joined by 2nd and 3rd places for the first time. Drawing on all of Colin’s vast experience, we discuss the competition in general, 2023 in particular and, hopefully, clarify many questions and doubts that the general public may have about how the winner is finally decided. Colin is a friend of the MotorMatters channel as well as a regular guest presenter in our videos.

#SAGMJ #SACOTY #coty2023 #omnisurecoty


Latest News

Share This Story!

Related Articles